Your Entry to Practice

Is the PRK exam for you?

If you are starting your career in public relations and wondering if the PRK exam is for you, you may find it helpful to understand PRK exam learning objectives that are being tested:

  • identify commonly understood public relations theories and practices;
  • formulate communications strategies and tactics appropriate for a number of described business situations;
  • distinguish between correct and incorrect terms and processes typically used in public relations, corporate communications and marketing communications;
  • employ appropriate editing skills to create error-free copy;
  • clearly and correctly express concepts and arguments in writing;
  • analyze a described workplace situation and apply sound judgment in creating an appropriate solution.

Next exam:

The next Public Relations Knowledge (PRK)® Exam will take place on Saturday, September 20, 2014 in most major urban centres across Canada.

Registration closes:
Wednesday, September 17, 2014, midnight PST (subject to availability of exam centre)
 
*click to enlarge
 

Consider doing the PRK exam if you have graduated from a PR program in 2013 or will be graduating in 2014, or if you are a junior public relations practitioner. 

 

The PRK Readiness Program is a good tool to prepare for the exam and includes:

 
  • The Study Guide and recommended reading list
  • Membership in the online PRK Discussion Forum
  • Live webinar to prepare for the exam and ask questions (Archived version of Webinar from April 17, 2014 now available: see PRK Forum)
 

Congratulations!


Congratulations to all who have successfully completed the Public Relations Knowledge (PRK)® Exam!

 
Kate Abel | CV Leanne Laverick | CV
Taylor Blades
Joshua Brighton | CV
Kealy Litun
Emily Brennan
Kimberly Castlemain
Jacquie Lycka | CV
Audrey Champagne
Shelby MacLeod
Shauntae Manders
Jennifer Collins | Bio
Octavio Ulises Martinez
Warren Mitchell
Michelle Crossland | Bio Mallory McCredie
Ashley Degrace Heather Olynick | CV
Colleen Dunbar| CV Dahlia Orcajada
Jaclyn Edwards
Nicole Fitch
Samantha Peck
Calyn Pettit
Stephanie Jeans Hannah Rose Pratt
Phil Gaudreau | CV

Stephanie Rochefort

Jerrica Goodwin
Kelsey Rosenkranz
Anne Stevenson
Kelly Hall Leslee Vivian
Katie Hayes
Amy Watkins
Lars Wessman
Amanda Kemsley
Maria Kotovych | CV
Brandon Westman | CV
Salem Woodrow

Is the Public Relations Knowledge (PRK)® exam for you?
  
You should consider writing the exam if you are a:
 
  • graduate (or about to graduate) from a public relations program and want to demonstrate your foundation of public relations knowledge and boost your visibility by posting your CV on the CPRS website
  • junior public relations professional motivated to distinguish yourself
  • professional who has been working in a public relations or communications position but had not graduated from a public relations study program



Detailed information on the PRK exam is available HERE

Exam Locations

Halifax
Mount Saint Vincent University
1:30 - 3:30 pm ADT
Room 315
Seton Academic Centre
Halifax, NS
 
 
Montreal
McGill University
12:30 - 2:30 pm EDT
Room 1017
688 Sherbrooke St. W.
Montreal, QC
 
 
Ottawa
Algonquin College
10:30 am - 12:30 pm EDT
Woodroffe Campus
College Avenue
Ottawa, ON
 
 
Toronto
CPRS National Office
10:30 am - 12:30 pm EDT
Suite 346
4195 Dundas St. West
Toronto, ON
 
Kitchener/Waterloo
Conestoga College
12:30 - 2:30 pm EDT
Doon Campus, Kitchener, ON
TBC
 
 
Regina
University of Regina
11:30 am - 1:30 pm CDT
TBC
 
 
Edmonton
Grant MacEwan University
10:30 am - 12:30 pm MDT
Lab 6-345
City Centre Campus
10700-104 Avenue
Edmonton, AB
 
 
Calgary
Mount Royal University
10:30 am - 12:30 pm MDT
Room T-243, Faculty of Communication Studies
Calgary, AB
 
 
Vancouver
Kwantlen Polytechnic University
9:30  - 11:30 am PDT
PR Lab 3072 Richmond Campus
Richmond, BC
 
 
Victoria

9:30 am - 11:30 am PDT

TBC